top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Traveled Path Collaborative

SATURDAY STORIES


Autism Awareness

Mom Stories 💙


Meet : Deborah Portnoy


Where do you live?

LA, CA


What’s your sign? Taurus


What is it like parenting a child on the spectrum?

That’s an interesting question with a complex answer; It’s never boring that’s for sure. There’s lots of reciprocal learning. My son is 21 now and it’s been a wild ride!


Do you have any good coping strategies that you want to share?

I’ve learned to meditate, and use deep breathing to feel grounded and centered. I’ve learned to ask for help and to find community.


How do you practice self care?

I try to prioritize a good night sleep, and take a hot shower while singing to some favorite music in the morning. I also try to eat balanced so I can stay healthy.


What inspires you?

I’m inspired by nature, and human kindness.


Describe yourself in 1 word -

Only one?… 🤔 that’s hard.

Related to being a mom to someone with high support needs I would have to say dedicated. But words that describe my essence; Passionate, inquisitive, perceptive, determined, &

What you see is what you get.


Harryherstik you tube channel now has two original songs where my son wrote the lyrics and collaborated with professionals in the music industry. He’s working on his third song and I’m working on a series of videos for parents, and will be able to share more details about that soon.



bottom of page