top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Traveled Path Collaborative

SATURDAY STORIES


Autism Awareness

Mom Stories 💙


Meet: Mary Doran


Where do you live?

I live in Pasadena


What’s your sign?

I’m a virgo


What is it like parenting a child on the spectrum?

He’s a Virgo too:)

Schedules and predictability are key. Since life doesn’t always recognize that…I always carry a “Mary Poppins” bag with items we may need, from snacks to band aids and everything in between.


Patience and calm essential. I think as a parent of a child on the spectrum, you’re always “on.”


You have to be an active supporter and protector of your child. And reactions are as important as actions.


Do you have any good coping strategies that you want to share?

I have always coped by doing research, finding information, opportunities and good professionals.


I have a wonderful, fully involved husband. I am lucky to have the support of some wonderful sisters and friends. Couldn’t do without them.


How do you practice self care?

Love a face mask!

Swinging in the hammock under the oak tree.

Wonderful music

Occasional cocktail


What inspires you?

Creativity! It’s so important for every person! I love to see it and share it!


Describe yourself in 1 word

Flexible



bottom of page