top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Traveled Path Collaborative

SATURDAY STORIES


Saturday Stories


Feature for Autism Awareness Month 💙


Meet Simone Lefebvre


Where do you live? Arcadia, California

What's your sign? I am a Taurus sun and moon. Leo rising.


How long have you been working with people on the spectrum?

I have been working in the Adult Transition Program (ATP) of MUSD since 2015. Many students come through our classroom who are on the spectrum or are simply neurodivergent.

Our program's goal is to empower our students by giving them the tools, access, and experience in different facets of life in order for them to gain some level of independence when they reach adulthood. This varies greatly between students. Our program strives to act as a bridge between adolescence and adulthood in a way that will resonate with our particular population of students.


How do you stay inspired?

The students and our team keep me inspired. The students are a constant source of amazement and joy on almost a daily basis. The beauty of their souls and the humility that they carry within themselves. Their purity of heart and spirit is what keeps me inspired.

I feel so blessed to work with some incredibly smart, creative, and innovative members of staff who keep each day hopping and each new adventure fresh and exciting!


How do you practice self-care?

I am a work in progress when it comes to self-care. I think many teachers struggle with this one. However, for me I find doing creative or artsy type activities really helps me to center myself and I love creating something that is new and beautiful.


Do you have any good coping strategies that you want to share?

I think a good coping strategy is that old adage, "take each day as it comes." Look for the wins and try not to obsess about any perceived failures. There is always at least one win, and it does not have to be monumental. Sometimes, just making your bed and having a healthy breakfast is a win. Also, simply be kind and compassionate with others. We never know what personal wars a person may be going through.





bottom of page