top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Traveled Path Collaborative

SATURDAY STORIES


Saturday Stories


Featured Female


Meet: Melanie Hackman


Where do you live? Pasadena


What’s your sign?

Sagittarius


How long have you been working with people on the spectrum?

16 years


How do you stay inspired?

I am constantly looking to my students for inspiration. Thinking of these students inspires me to be more kind, creative, fearless, confident, and accepting. My students teach me every day how to thrive even when the odds are stacked against you.


How do you practice self-care?

I spend time with my dogs. Doggy cuddle sessions are everything for me!


Do you have any good coping strategies that you want to share?

When things are extremely stressful and feel out of control, I mentally put a pin on the stressful thoughts and get back to them when I feel better equipped to unpack tough feelings. Typically, after a couple days the stressful thoughts are easier to tackle after you have had time to process it. You have to be patient with yourself. My students taught me that.


Do you have any business/projects you want to share?


I don't have my own business YET! I want to eventually open an adult skill building program for students over 22.



Melanie is a special education teacher at PALS (Pasadena adult living skills)


bottom of page