top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Traveled Path Collaborative

SATURDAY STORIES


Autism Awareness

Mom Stories 💙


Meet: Navah Paskowitz-Asner, founder of The Ed Asner Family Center and CAMP ED / co founder of The Dating Spectrum and Sex Ed 101.


Where do you live? San Fernando Valley


What’s your sign? Triple Gemini!


What is it like parenting a child on the spectrum?

I have three , each wildly different from each other, like any children we have hard days and easy days when they were little it was a constant challenge because I was a single mom, working three jobs and had severe anxiety disorder now I see them as truly my gifts and Daily inspiration.


Do you have any good coping strategies that you want to share?

I would say take life in tiny bites , don’t allow yourself to get in the worry bubble (especially when your child is first diagnosed)and if you DO (which you WILL)find like minded parents who can UNDERSTAND a support system of parents can be life saving!


How do you practice self care?

I don’t. Seriously I need to. I always tell my parents at my support groups to MAKE TIME FOR YOURSELF! I guess Swimming is my one self care rituals I try to do daily. But I’ve been working 6-7 days a week since January.


What inspires you?

When a parent says the CENTER has given them something to look forward to, as a family, that an adult or teen with autism who has been so depressed and secluded during Covid is having social connections and blossoming again because of our programs, That’s everything to me.


Describe yourself in 1 word -Indestructible


Www.teafc.org


bottom of page